Photographer: Hubert Barre

All these art photographs were made in three monasteries in the south of France: Senanque, Aiguebelle, Notre Dame des Neiges in Ardeche.

Hubert Barre, Photographer, shows the lives of monks in prayer, solitude, peace, life in God. The echo of a turbulent society, in response to a cloistered and isolated life. A reserved and secret place that is the monastic fence, where the monks live their retired life to carry the world in a living and orderly faith. Signs of prayer and the presence of God.

A life punctuated by daily prayers, six times a day, the first being fixed at 3:30 and the last at 20h. This gives the monks time to rest for a few hours. By these acts, the monks carry the world, which is the fruit of the monasteries. They live by their work in the neighborhood, in the shop, and maintain the monastery.

They also have deep reading times in a large library. Hubert Barre wanted to show, through these images, the signs of their consecrated life, but also signs of the presence of God in their lives. In their life together, but also in their secret life.

Four years of analogical work and digital finalization were needed by Hubert Barre to make these images.

Hubert Barre is a photographer and lives in Aubenas, France.


  • 1985-86 Photographer at the press service of the French armies of Berlin.

  • 1987 Exhibition at the Bournot Center, of a series of images on BERLIN, during the period of the wall. Title of the exhibition "impression of Berlin".

  • 1987 Exhibition of images "impressions of Berlin" at the festival around the world of Blois with Didier Regnier de France2.

  • 1989 St Antoine neighborhood portraits, theme of the exhibition: precariousness. 1st prize for a photo contest of "Le généraliste" magazine.

  • 1990 Great Angle exhibition at Voiron St Antoine.

  • 2010 Exhibition at the 10th week of the communities of Aubenas in Ardèche.

  • 2011 Exhibition at the 13th meeting of cinemas in Europe of Aubenas. Theme of the exhibition: Choreography by dancer Yvan Gascon.

  • 2012 Exhibition "the mark of the times" at the Bournot center in Aubenas.

  • 2012 Exhibition "Breath of clay" Faith and culture festival of the diocese and bishopric of Viviers.

  • 2013 "Water in all these states" exhibition at the Bournot center in Aubenas.

  • 2013 Exhibition "monastic fence" at the Ecomuseum of Chirols in Ardèche.

Biography
  • Limited edition of 50 exemplaires
    Quick view
    Prepare for the prayer Prepare for the prayer

    In the cloister of Aiguebelle Abbey, a meeting with a monk, who is preparing for prayer. The weight of the years but also that of prayer. The certainty of being loved by a God present at every step and every click of his cane against the ground. In the cloister of Aiguebelle Abbey,...

    From 557.10 CHF Available
  • Limited edition of 50 exemplaires
    Quick view
    Over the Glass Over the Glass

    The monk reveals himself in the light outside the monastery. A place of meditation and contemplation that was once used by the peasants who maintained the monastery. This photograph captures the atmosphere of work and austerity that can still be felt here. The monk reveals himself in the light...

    From 557.10 CHF Available
  • Limited edition of 50 exemplaires
    Quick view
    Light Light

    Inside the church, before prayer, the signs of God, light, the secret beauty of creation. The sunlight coming out of these windows gives all its intensity at a certain time of the day. Inside the church, before prayer, the...

    From 557.10 CHF Available
  • Limited edition of 50 exemplaires
    Quick view
    Christ Light Christ Light

    A sign from God, after the Eucharist, at the Abbey of Sénanque near Avignon, in Provence. Eight monks live there. It is a privileged place where one can appreciate nature, the divine creation. But also the impact of light on objects and bodies, certainly giving them a better meaning. A sign from God, after the Eucharist,...

    From 557.10 CHF Available
Showing 1 - 4 of 4 items

Photographe : Hubert Barre

L’ensemble de ces photographies d'art ont été faites dans trois monastères du sud de la France: Senanque , Aiguebelle , Notre dame des Neiges en Ardèche.

Hubert Barre, Photographe, montre la vie des moines dans la prière, la solitude, la paix, la vie en Dieu. L’écho d’une société mouvementée, en réponse à une vie cloîtrée et isolée. Un endroit réservé et secret qu’est la clôture monastique, là ou les moines vivent leur vie retirée pour porter le monde dans une foi vivante et ordonnée. Des signes de la prière et la présence de Dieu.

Une vie rythmée par des prières quotidiennes, six fois par jour, la première étant fixée à 3h30 et la dernière à 20h. Ce qui laisse le temps aux moines de se reposer quelques heures. Par ces actes, les moines portent le monde, ce qui est le fruit des monastères. Ils vivent par leur travail aux alentours, au magasin, et font l’entretien du monastère.

Ils ont également des temps de lecture profonde dans une grande bibliothèque. Hubert Barre a voulu montrer, au travers de ces images, les signes de leur vie consacrée, mais aussi des signes de la présence de Dieu dans leur vie. Dans leur vie commune, mais aussi dans leur vie secrète.

Quatre années de travail d’approche en argentique et de finalisation en numérique ont été nécessaires à Hubert Barre pour effectuer ces images.

Hubert Barre est Photographe et vit à Aubenas, France.


  • 1985-86 Photographe au service de presse des armées Français de Berlin.

  • 1987 Exposition au centre le Bournot, d’une série d’images sur BERLIN , pendant la période du mur. Titre de l’exposition « impression de Berlin ».

  • 1987 Exposition  des images « impressions de Berlin » au festival autour du monde de Blois avec Didier Regnier de France2.

  • 1989 Portraits de quartier St Antoine, thème de l’exposition: la précarité. 1er prix pour un concours photo du magazine « Le généraliste ».

  • 1990 Exposition au Grand Angle de Voiron St Antoine.

  • 2010 Exposition à la 10eme semaine des communautés de Aubenas en Ardèche.

  • 2011 Exposition aux 13emes rencontres des cinémas d’Europe d’Aubenas. Thème de l’exposition : Chorégraphie du danseur Yvan Gascon.

  • 2012 Exposition « la marque des temps »  au centre le Bournot à Aubenas.

  • 2012 Exposition « Le souffle d’argile » festival foi et culture du Diocèse et évêché de Viviers.

  • 2013 Exposition « l’eau dans tout ces états » au centre le Bournot à Aubenas.

  • 2013 Exposition « clôture monastique » à l’écomusée de Chirols en Ardèche.

Biographie

Le moine se révèle dans la lumière extérieure du monastère. Un lieu de méditation et de contemplation qui autrefois était utilisé par les paysans qui entretenaient le monastère. Aujourd'hui, c'est un lieu qui laisse cette présence intacte. Cette photographie capte l'atmosphère de travail et d'austérité qui se ressent encore en ces lieux.

À partir de 600.00 CHF

À l'intérieur de l'église, avant la prière, les signes de Dieu, de la lumière, beauté secrète de la création. La lumière du soleil jaillit de ces fenêtres donne toute son intensité à un certain moment de la journée. La prière du matin est la plus importante, privilégiée par les moines qui commencent leur journée à 3h30. Lumière, génératrice de vie et...

À partir de 600.00 CHF

Un signe de Dieu , après l'eucharistie, à l'abbaye de Sénanque à côté d'Avignon, en Provence. Huit moines y vivent. C'est un endroit privilégié où l'on peut apprécier la nature, la création divine. Mais aussi l'impact de la lumière sur des objets et sur des corps, leur donnant certainement un meilleur sens.

À partir de 600.00 CHF

Dans le cloître de l'abbaye d'Aiguebelle, une rencontre avec un moine, qui se prépare pour la prière. Le poids des ans mais aussi celui de la prière. La certitude d'être aimé par un Dieu présent à chaque pas et chaque cliquetis de sa canne contre le sol.

À partir de 600.00 CHF
Résultats 1 - 4 sur 4.