Photographer: Jason Gardner

Return to Carnaval: Rituals, Roots, Rebels

Carnaval is more than just a party and parade in the streets. Democratic and folkloric, it reveals a complex diversity of local customs intersecting with universal themes.

From the Austrian Alps to Spanish Basque Country to the Cajun prairie in Louisiana, and from the shores of Northern France to the remote islands off of Guinea-Bissau: in each of these Carnavals, the masks and costumes contribute to centuries-old traditions, connecting the people deeply to their roots while enabling them to transcend and even rebel against their daily life and surroundings.

Through this ritualistic performance, embodying animals and spirits, mythical beasts, and a wide cast of perennial characters with local significance, the participants retrace their ancestors’ enactment of rites of the season, evoking cyclical transitions and opposing faces of the human condition: winter and spring, barren and fertile, life and death, light and dark, chaos and order.

No matter the country, traditions echo across continents, with similar themes emerging:

  • Rituals of song and dance, parading through villages, the ringing of bells, noisemaking to stave off the winter and bring on good luck and bountiful harvest; going from house to house to partake in neighbors’ food and drink; lighting fires to ward off evil spirits;

  • Harkening back to cultural and religious roots, blending symbols of both paganism—monsters, beasts of burden, wild animals, and various mythical creatures—and Catholicism—crosses, priests, the Three Kings, the enactment of the ceremony of marriage, resurrection, and redemption;

  • The rebellion manifested through the personification of devils and destruction; transvestism and other subversive disguises; tricksterism and improvised chaos; and by the clash between modern and ancient, between ritual and reality, where the current world peeks out, interacting with the roots of the past.

Having published A Flower in the Mouth (Visual Anthropology Press), showing the culture, music and rituals of the folkloric Carnaval in Pernambuco, Brazil, Jason has continued the project by photographing versions of the festival in 12 countries over four continents. In 2018, Jason’s presented selections from this series in his exhibit “Portraits de Carnaval” at BY-Chatel Gallery in Paris. His work has also been exhibited in New York, Vienna, Toronto, São Paulo, New Orleans, Los Angeles, and San Francisco.

Jason Gardner tells stories, using photography and video within the framework of Visual Anthropology. He is passionate about music, culture, and ritual, and how they impact human expression. Jason published A Flower in the Mouth, a book of photography and writing about the culture, music and rituals of Carnaval in Pernambuco, Brazil. 


Jason has continued developing the project “Retour au Carnaval: Rituals, Roots and Rebels,” photographing other Carnaval celebrations in Bulgaria; Slovenia; Poland; Basque country, Spain; Dunkerque, France; Guinea-Bissau; Sardinia; the Tyrol mountains of Italy and Austria; Trinidad; Bahamas; New Orleans; and Cajun country in Louisiana.


He is a founder of Visual Anthropology Press, a book packager dedicated to helping independent authors, photographers, and organizations realize and communicate their vision to their audience. VAP recently produced Scattered Among the Nations, a photography book on remote Jewish communities throughout the world.


Jason’s work has appeared in The New York Times, Rolling Stone, Photo District News, New York Magazine, NPR.org, and SPIN Magazine.  Clients include Con Edison, HBO, Samsung Corporation, N-Y Historical Society, Ogilvy & Mather, Direct TV, Pfizer, and Human Rights Watch.


Au Retour de Carnaval: Rites, Racines, Rebels” was recently selected to be exhibited at the Mois de la Photo OFF Photography festival in Paris. Lincoln Center hosted an exhibition of Jason’s work at the Out of Doors Festival. New Orleans Jazz Fest has hosted an exhibition and presentation of his work. The Brazilian Consulate General Los Angeles sponsored an exhibition of his work in as well as exhibits in San Francisco and NY. Other exhibitions include BY Chatel Galerie Paris, Mairie XVème Paris, Vienna Photo Book Fair, Rayko Gallery (San Francisco, CA), Photoville, PhotoPlace Gallery, Uma Nota Festival Toronto, Art From the Heart, and the Brazilian Endowment for the Arts (BEA) New York. 


He is a board member at-large, NY Chapter, of The American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP), and co-founder of creative networking community Toasted Almonds, having launched a Paris chapter of Toasted Almonds (Amandes Grillées).


Jason divides his time between New York and Paris. 



Biography
per page
Showing 1 - 12 of 19 items

Photographe : Jason Gardner

Retour au Carnaval: Rites, racines, rebels

Le Carnaval est bien plus qu’une fête ou un défilé dans la rue. Démocratique et folklorique, il révèle une diversité complexe de coutumes locales, qui croisent des thèmes universels.

Des Alpes autrichiennes au Pays Basque espagnol en passant par la prairie Cajun en Louisiane, et de la côte nord de la France aux îles isolées au large de la Guinée-Bissau : dans chacun de ces carnavals, les masques et les costumes perpétuent des traditions vieilles de plusieurs siècles, liant les gens profondément à leurs racines et les invitant dans le même temps à transcender et même se rebeller contre leur vie quotidienne et leur environnement.

A travers cette performance ritualiste, où ils incarnent des animaux et des esprits, des bêtes mythiques, et choisissent parmi une vaste distribution de personnages pérennes ayant une signification locale, les célébrants revisitent les rites saisonniers de leurs ancêtres, les transitions cycliques comme les faces opposées de la condition humaine : l’hiver et le printemps, la stérilité et la fertilité, la vie et la mort, le chaos et l’ordre.

Peu importe le pays, les traditions se retrouvent dans tous les continents, et des thèmes similaires se dégagent :

  • Des rites composés de chants et de danses, des défilés dans les villages, la sonnerie des cloches, la production des bruits pour retarder l'hiver et porter bonheur et une bonne récolte ; des visites de maison en maison pour manger et boire avec ses voisins ; des feux pour éloigner les mauvais esprits ;

  • Le retour aux racines culturelles et religieuses, mêlant les symboles du paganisme—les monstres, bêtes de somme, animaux sauvages et diverses créatures mythiques—, et du Catholicisme—croix, prêtres, les Rois Mages, la célébration du mariage, la résurrection et la rédemption ;

  • La rébellion manifestée à travers la personnification des démons et de la destruction ; par le travestissement et par d’autres déguisements subversifs ; par la filouterie et le chaos improvisé ; et par le choc entre le moderne et l'ancien, entre le rituel et la réalité, où l’on entrevoit le monde actuel surgir, dans son interaction avec les racines du passé.

Après avoir publié A Flower in the Mouth (Visual Anthropology Press), qui présente la culture, la musique et les rites du carnaval folklorique de Pernambuco, au Brésil, Jason a poursuivi son projet de photographier des versions du festival dans douze pays sur quatre continents. En 2018, il a présenté des sélections de cette série dans une exposition intitulée « Portraits de Carnaval », à la galerie BY-Chatel à Paris. Son travail a également été exposé à New York, Vienne, Toronto, São Paulo, La Nouvelle-Orléans, Los Angeles et San Francisco.

Jason Gardner raconte des histoires en utilisant la photographie et la vidéo dans le cadre de l'anthropologie visuelle. Il est passionné par la musique, la culture et les rituels, et leur impact sur l'expression humaine. Jason a publié A Flower in the Mouth, un livre de photographie et d'écriture sur la culture, la musique et les rituels du carnaval de Pernambuco, au Brésil.


Jason a continué à développer le projet "Retour au Carnaval" : Rituels, racines et rebelles", photographiant d'autres célébrations du Carnaval en Bulgarie, Slovénie, Pologne, Pays Basque, Espagne, Dunkerque, France, Guinée-Bissau, Sardaigne, Italie et Autriche, Trinidad, Bahamas, Nouvelle Orléans et Louisiane, pays cajun.


Il est l'un des fondateurs de Visual Anthropology Press, une maison d'édition dédiée à aider les auteurs indépendants, les photographes et les organisations à réaliser et à communiquer leur vision à leur public. VAP a récemment produit Scattered Among the Nations, un livre de photographie sur les communautés juives éloignées à travers le monde.


Le travail de Jason a été publié dans The New York Times, Rolling Stone, Photo District News, New York Magazine, NPR.org et SPIN Magazine. Parmi ses clients figurent Con Edison, HBO, Samsung Corporation, N-Y Historical Society, Ogilvy & Mather, Direct TV, Pfizer et Human Rights Watch.


"Au Retour de Carnaval : Rites, Racines, Rebelles" a récemment été sélectionné pour être exposé au Mois de la Photo OFF Photography festival à Paris. Le Lincoln Center a accueilli une exposition du travail de Jason au Festival Out of Doors. Le New Orleans Jazz Fest a accueilli une exposition et une présentation de son travail. Le consulat général du Brésil à Los Angeles a parrainé une exposition de ses œuvres à San Francisco et à New York. Parmi les autres expositions figurent BY Chatel Galerie Paris, Mairie XVème Paris, Vienna Photo Book Fair, Rayko Gallery (San Francisco, CA), Photoville, PhotoPlace Gallery, Uma Nota Festival Toronto, Art From the Heart et le Brazilian Endowment for the Arts (BEA) New York.


Il est membre du conseil d'administration de la section de New York de l'American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP) et cofondateur de la communauté creative networking Toasted Almonds, après avoir lancé une section parisienne de Toasted Almonds (Amandes Grillées). Jason partage son temps entre New York et Paris.



Biographie
par page
Résultats 1 - 12 sur 19.